Pinnacle Awards

The Dry Stone Walling Association’s Pinnacle Award Scheme recognises outstanding projects incorporating dry stone walling. The scheme is designed to embrace a wide spectrum of work although only the most outstanding projects incorporating the very best of craftsmanship, innovative use of design and inspirational use of stone will be considered for a Pinnacle Award.

The Award is only available for projects within Great Britain in order to maintain the necessary levels of scrutiny. However, as more organisations supporting the craft are established around the world, it is hoped these will build upon the prestige of the DSWA Pinnacle Award with their own similarly scrutinised awards.



Projects submitted for consideration under the Pinnacle Award Scheme should be outstanding examples of their type, built to the highest standards of craftsmanship. In addition, projects should be:

  • of sufficient individual importance to justify special recognition
  • aesthetically pleasing while also displaying the highest standards of work
  • predominantly comprised of dry stone walling, although it is accepted that up to 25% of the project may include mortared work and/or other materials.
  • under construction or completed within two years of the application.

Originality of design, the waller’s skill in its execution, creative and imaginative use of available stone and natural features should all be taken into account when submitting a project for consideration under the Scheme.

Each application will be dealt with on its own merits and assuming that the basic criteria are met, other aspects of the project will be taken into consideration.

Certificate of Merit

Some projects may not be as ambitious as full Pinnacle Awards but are still outstanding examples of workmanship and could be submitted directly for a Certificate of Merit under one of the following categories:

  • Agriculture
  • Architecture
  • Conservation
  • Forestry
  • Historical Restoration
  • Landscaping
  • Public Works

Consideration will be given to projects that:

  • incorporate unusual and skilfully executed design features
  • enhance the landscape
  • assist in the preservation of an area of natural beauty
  • benefit the community
  • improve public access and/or include facilities for the disabled.

Certificates of Merit

Rhodesian African Rifles Memorial, National Memorial Arboretum – 2016
Cross Fell Shelter, Cumbria – 2015
Shibden Hall Project, West Yorkshire – 2014
Croft Farm Riding Manège, Cumbria – 2010
Rathmell, North Yorkshire – 2009
Walkden Gardens, Cheshire – 2009
Shadow Stone Fold, Yorkshire Sculpture Park – 2008
Helm Lodge, Cumbria – 2008
Monk Coniston Walled Garden, Cumbria – 2008
Ratho Adventure Centre, West Lothian – 2006

Packhorse Bridge, near Dunkeld – 2005
Greenburn Copper Mines, Cumbria – 2003
Calm Earth Sculpture, near Stourbridge – 2001
Ashover, Derbyshire – 2000
Heythrop, Chipping Norton – 1999
Lowther Park Drinking Troughs, Cumbria – 1997
Pant & Malthouse Gardens, South Wales – 1997
Bird Hide, Calf Hey Reservoir, Lancashire – 1997
Restored sheep folds, Snake Pass Derbyshire – 1996


If you would like to submit a project for consideration under The Pinnacle Award Scheme, an application pack and further details are available from the DSWA Office.

The DSWA Pinnacle Award Scheme panel will carefully assess each application. As this procedure can take some time, it is acceptable to submit outline details of the work, prior to completion.

Once an award has been made, it is not possible to submit any extension or continuation of that project for a second award.